Media Centre


CTIHE Inauguration Ceremony cum HKCT Annual Luncheon 2014

  • Date:
    2014-12-17
  • Content:

    Hong Kong College of Technology (HKCT) held the CTIHE Inauguration Ceremony cum HKCT Annual Luncheon 2014 on 9 December 2014 in Langham Hotel. Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice, was invited as the officiating guest.

    Mr Rimsky Yuen said in his speech (Chinese version only) that HKCT’s contributions to society should be widely recognized and praised. He praised HKCT as a charitable post-secondary institution full of vision and vibrancy. Despite limited resources, HKCT has overcome many challenges. He also appreciated HKCT’s efforts in expanding its services, providing various education programmes and study pathways for people from different ages, backgrounds to meet the government’s policies and the societal development of Hong Kong.

    Dr Wong Yau Kar, David, BBS, JP, the Chairman of CTIHE’s Board of Governors and the Vice-Chairman of HKCT’s Management Board, also delivered his welcoming speech during the ceremony. Dr Wong said, “The establishment of CTIHE marks a new milestone of HKCT”. CTIHE firstly concentrates on the development of Social Science discipline. He hoped the first Bachelor of Social Science (Hons) in Social Development Studies could nurture students to become social development practitioners with broad theoretical knowledge and practical skills to resolve social problems, thus propelling the progress of Hong Kong Society.

    HKCT Institute of Higher Education (CTIHE) is a degree awarding institution with focus on disciplines related to Social Sciences. With the approval granted by the Chief Executive in Council in accordance with the “Post-Secondary Colleges Ordinance (Cap. 320)”, the Institute becomes the 19th institution which has the degree-awarding status granted by the Hong Kong Government.

    CTIHE has also launched a Mentorship Scheme and invited social elites to be the mentors to share their invaluable expertise and life experience with students. During the Inauguration Ceremony, Dr Wong Yau Kar, David, BBS, JP, the Chairman of CTIHE’s Board of Governors and the Vice-Chairman of HKCT’s Management Board presented Certificate of Appreciation to the mentors including Mr Hui Chun Ping, Charles, FCA, FCPA, Financial Director of Central Development Limited; Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau, JP, Partner-in-charge, KPMG HK Market and Tax Services in Hong Kong and Ms Winnie Ng, Founder & Deputy Chairman of RoadShow Holdings Ltd, etc.

    HKCT Higher Education has made remarkable achievements over the past five years. After realizing the first “Independent Campus” dream in Yiu On Estate, Ma On Shan in 2009, HKCT was successfully granted another new premise in Ma On Shan by Education Bureau in August 2013. The new campus is conveniently located in Ma On Shan with 3-minute walk distance from the current HKCT Jockey Club Ma On Shan Campus. It and the current MOS Campus will be developed as the twin campuses of HKCT. The new HKCT Jockey Club Undergraduate Campus will be officially inaugurated in September next year. The gross floor area of the twin campuses will be more than 110,000 square feet.

    Finally, Mr Rimsky Yuen, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice; Mr Tam Yiu Chung, GBS, JP, Honorary Chairman of HKCT Management Board; Dr. Wong King Keung, David, BBS, JP, Chairman of HKCT Group; Dr Wong Yau Kar, David, BBS, JP, the Chairman of CTIHE’s Board of Governors and the Vice-Chairman of HKCT’s Management Board; Dr Lau Pui King, JP, Chairperson of HKCT Management Board; and Dr Chan Cheuk Hay, President and Principal of HKCT joined the CTIHE Inauguration Ceremony to toast in celebration of the achievement of HKCT.


    Mr Rimsky Yuen Kwok-keung, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice has congratulated the inauguration of CTIHE and praised HKCT as a charitable post-secondary institution with vision and vibrancy. Despite limited resources, HKCT has overcome different challenges.


    (From Left to Right) Dr Lau Pui King, JP, Chairperson of HKCT Management Board; Dr. Wong King Keung, David, BBS, JP, Chairman of HKCT Group; Mr Rimsky Yuen Kwok-keung, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice and the officiating guest of the ceremony; Mr Tam Yiu Chung, GBS, JP, Honorary Chairman of HKCT Management Board; Dr Wong Yau Kar, David, BBS, JP, the Chairman of CTIHE’s Board of Governors and the Vice-Chairman of HKCT’s Management Board and Dr Chan Cheuk Hay, President and Principal of HKCT have officiated the Inauguration of CTIHE.


    Mr Rimsky Yuen Kwok-keung, SC, JP, Secretary for Justice, Mr Tam Yiu Chung, GBS, JP, Honorary Chairman of HKCT Management Board and other Board of Governors of CTIHE toasted during the Opening Ceremony in celebration of the achievement of HKCT.


    [Media Contacts]

    Department of Marketing and Communications
    Mr Jacky Wong
    Phone: 2270 5689 / 9033 6569 Email: jackywong@hkct.edu.hk
    Mr Eric Ng
    Phone: 2270 5683 / 6423 5333 Email: ericng@hkct.edu.hk

傳媒中心


港專學院成立典禮暨香港專業進修學校週年聚餐2014

  • 日期:
    2014-12-17
  • 內容:

    香港專業進修學校 (港專) 於2014年12月9日假旺角朗豪酒店舉行「港專學院成立典禮暨香港專業進修學校週年聚餐2014」。律政司司長袁國強資深大律師應邀擔任主禮嘉賓。

    袁司長在致辭中 表示,港專對香港的貢獻絕對值得社會大眾的肯定及表揚。他讚揚港專是一所有抱負、有活力的民辦專上院校,在有限的資源下,仍然能夠跨越重重挑戰。在過去五 十多年來,積極投入香港的教育事業及配合政府政策,因應社會的變遷,不斷擴展服務範疇,致力為切合不同年齡、不同背景、不同階層人士的需求而提供各種各類 的進修課程及升學階梯。

    港專學院校董會主席、港專校董會副主席黃友嘉博士, BBS, JP在典禮中致歡迎辭時表示,港專學院的成立標誌著港專的教育事業登上了一個新的台階。港專學院首先專注發展社會科學。他期望港專學院首個的「社會發展研究 (榮譽) 社會科學學士課程」,可為社會培育具有廣闊理論基礎的實幹者,協助解決當前香港社會發展所面對的深層問題。促進社會進步。

    港專學院是一所以社會科學為重點的本科學院,並於8月獲香港特區政府根據香港法例第320章《專上教育條例》批准其註冊,成為本港第19間可以頒授學位的院校。

    港專學院舉辦「良師益友」計劃,邀請社會上有名望和出類拔萃的傑出領袖擔當學生的「良師益友」,向學生分享他們豐富的經驗和人生閱歷。在港專學院成立典禮中,港專學院校董會主席、港專校董會副主席黃友嘉博士, BBS, JP向師友致送感謝狀,當中包括中建企業有限公司財務董事許晉平先生、畢馬威香港市場及香港區稅務主管合夥人劉麥嘉軒女士, JP、路訊通控股有限公司創辦人及副主席伍穎梅女士等。

    港專高等教育,在過去5年有了很大的進展。於2009年在馬鞍山耀安?實現首個「獨立校園」夢後,於2013年8月再獲教育局批給馬鞍山區內另一校舍,兩 校址只相距三數分鐘路程,造就港專的「雙子校園」。新的馬鞍山本科校園將於明年9月正式啟用,兩座校舍將總共有超過11萬呎的建築面積。

    最後,由主禮嘉賓律政司司長袁國強資深大律師、港專校董會榮譽主席譚耀宗議員, GBS, JP、港專機構主席黃景強博士, BBS, JP、港專學院校董會主席、港專校董會副主席黃友嘉博士, BBS, JP、港專校董會主席劉佩瓊博士, JP及港專校長陳卓禧博士一同主持港專學院成立典禮,並舉行祝酒儀式,祝賀港專未來續創佳績。


    律政司司長袁國強資深大律師祝賀港專學院成立,並讚揚港專是一所有抱負、有活力的民辦專上院校,在有限的資源下,仍然能夠跨越重重挑戰。



    (由左至右)港專校董會主席劉佩瓊博士, JP、港專機構主席黃景強博士, BBS, JP、主禮嘉賓律政司司長袁國強資深大律師、港專校董會榮譽主席譚耀宗議員, GBS, JP、港專學院校董會主席、港專校董會副主席黃友嘉博士, BBS, JP及港專校長陳卓禧博士一同主持港專學院成立儀式,與眾嘉賓慶祝學院正式成立。



    律政司司長袁國強資深大律師、港專校董會榮譽主席譚耀宗議員, GBS, JP 與港專學院校董舉杯祝酒,預祝港專未來發展一日千里。


    [傳媒聯絡]

    巿務與傳訊部

    黃先生 (Mr Jacky Wong)

    聯絡電話: 2270 5689 / 9033 6569 電郵: jackywong@hkct.edu.hk

    吳先生 (Mr Eric Ng)

    聯絡電話: 2270 5683 / 6423 5333 電郵: ericng@hkct.edu.hk